Please Forgive My Ignorance...

Then what is it about a "beat" that would make it a saleable item? I'm referring to the "Selling Beats!" thread in this forum.... :confused:

Is there a market for persussion beats and loops for people who have a facility with words, but not necessarily with rhythm?

I have a bunch of patterns available on my Tascam 2488. But up until now I have always worked with flesh-and blood drummers, and it never occurred to me that people could not just program their own percussion. I started as a drummer and always have some kind of rhythm track happening in my head, so I guess it's easy for me to lose sight of the fact that it doesn't come naturally for everybody.

Hehe, I know what you mean. I'm a drummer, but I use loops often. My favorites right now are "Bun E. in a Box" and "Mick Fleetwood Total Drumming." But these are rock oriented loops.

A beat can be a simple drum track or a complete instrumental. Have you listened to anybody's music who is selling beats? I have seen some people sell drum loops but not as many as you would think. Most sell the whole "beat" as an instrumental, so that a rapper or singer can take it and record his or her vocals over it for a full song. I don't think I've ever heard of this being done in the rock genre (not to say it hasn't), so if that is what you mainly listen to, then I could see where the confusion might come into play.

Fieva, yes, I listen primarily to rock-oriented music, and I think the paradigm in that form is that of a band that's capable of performing live most anything that they commit to in the studio. Not 100% true I know, but it's the benchmark, I think.

So a beat can be anything from a percussion track to a fully-produced platform ready for vocals. Very interesting.