Chop and Screw on the CPU...

bigwillz24

OK I got a PM from someone I guess wishes to remain anonymous.

The person asked:

hey wat up i was wondering how do i create the new stylish "chopped & screwed" style on my cpu

I figure there are many more people more qualified than me to answer this question (DJ's) but here is my best answer.

Screwing the music is really very simple. Find a program that has a pitch shift function. Set the pitch shifter to -1 through -3 depending on how "screwed" you want the music to be.

Chopping is a little more complicated you're gonna need a DJ program that will let you play two songs at the same time.

I use Tractor and I'm not very good at it.

But place the same song in deck a and deck b.

Set the cross fader all the way over the deck b.

Press play on deck a then press play on deck b.

Now the trick is to get deck a to play about a beat ahead deck b.

Then use the crossfader to slide back and forth quickly between deck a and deck b.

Making "chop" on the snare.

Good Luck... :D

If anyone has a better solution I'd love to hear it as I said before I'm not very good at it.

i'll tell you how i do it, which is very far from anything near as professional as you're talking, but the end result sounded pretty good considering i dont have turntables or anything like that. i take my song in cubase and first slow it down to the speed i wanted using the time stretch, then i use pitch shift to get the vocals to sound how i want and that takes care of the screwed part. then i just zoom on the waveform and wherever i want it to "skip" or chop, i just splice it and move it backwards or forwards. im sure michael watts would laugh if he read this, but it really sounds pretty good. ill post a link if you want to hear it. i dont know if this helps you or not, but i figure if this guy who's asking you this doesnt have the crazy kind of equipment that swisher house has he should be able to do something similar and get decent results.

yep