bedroom DJ recording onto laptop

davidbergin

Hi Folks, Newbie here...

I am a bedroom DJ, with a set of decks, a cheap mixing unit, which I run into my stereo to hear and record onto tape. This has worked fine up to now, and I have been happily producing tapes for friends etc.. With good sound quality and levels.

I have a laptop now also, with CD burner. What I would like to do is to record directly onto the hard drive, from the stereo, or mixer if I have to. Then burn the mix onto CD.

I would be grateful if someone else who has been in the same situation could give me advice on what I need to allow this, and any pitfalls-

I gather I need a decent sound card (recommendations?), I need software to convert the sound into mp3 from wav... (recommendations), and then I can burn.

I'll send a free cdisc to whoever can sort me out!
regards, and thanks in advance
David

What are the specs of your laptop? Processor speed, memory, and operating system? USB or Firewire and whatnot? There are a lot of options. Depending on how deep you want to go and what's in your budget, we can narrow it down.

Peace.

THE BIG PIECE said:
What are the specs of your laptop? Processor speed, memory, and operating system? USB or Firewire and whatnot? There are a lot of options. Depending on how deep you want to go and what's in your budget, we can narrow it down.

Peace.

What he said. Also, there's no need to convert from .wav to .mp3 files. It will just lose quality.

You don't have to buy a new soundcard.

Simply connect the OUTPUT of your MIXER to the LINE IN (not MIC IN) of your laptop.

You can use any editing program for the purpose of recording, converting, and semi-mastering your recorded mix.

The audio editor I use is Sound Forge 6.0 by Sonic Foundry.
Here is a link to their website. You can download a demo from the site.

http://www.sonicfoundry.com

http://www.sonicfoundry.com/download/step2.asp?DID=257

spin