Why record with a computer when there are all-in-one portastudios?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbrusko

As a total newbie to home recording (been at it about three years) I gotta admit I'm baffled at how many more people do this with computers than with standalone portastudios like the 2488neo that I'm learning on.

It can't be a money thing. A Mac alone costs two or three times what my neo cost.

It can't be flexibility, either. In addition to a library of fully editable onboard fx, the neo (and, I assume, similar machines) can accommodate as many outboard rack units as you want to daisy chain together.

Sound quality doesn't seem to be an issue, either way.

So, what's the attraction, DAW users?

FYI I'm not asking for an argument. I truly am curious. I have the money to spend on more toys, and I have the passion to stay at this and hopefully someday get as good at it as the many HR.com folks who've lent me their opinions on posted MP3s.

But before I get too much further in, I want to be sure I'm not missing some glaringly obvious reason why I should abandon the neo.

Oh ... and if this subject has been beaten to death in a past string, just let me know and I'll go there.

A computer offers better editing on a larger screen, the ability to expand the number of inputs and outputs if needed, being able to use any plug-in that works with your DAW, and the ability to easily upgrade the software or even switch brands. I'm sure there are other advantages but these are off the top of my head. Oh yeah, a computer is also cheaper assuming you already have a computer for other stuff. Even a budget PC these days is more than up to the task.

--Ethan

As a total newbie to home recording (been at it about three years) I gotta admit I'm baffled at how many more people do this with computers than with standalone portastudios like the 2488neo that I'm learning on.

It can't be a money thing. A Mac alone costs two or three times what my neo cost.