Some sort of low frequency interference.

e_rock

I have been using Guitar Tracks Pro 2 for a few years using my soundblaster card. I just got a new computer today and installed GTP. I sent the drum machine into the mixer, and the mixer to the soundcard. When I clicked on the record button to arm a track, I noticed that the levels jumped immediately, even though I couldn't hear a thing. The drum machine sounds fine and I can hear it clearly through my speaker. I unplugged everything from the soundcard and the levels still remain high, yet I hear nothing. I recorded 20 seconds with no inputs other than this signal. After I ran it through a spectrum analyzer, I see that there is a constant signal around 20Hz or so.

I have a new wireless keyboard & mouse and thought it might be that, but I moved them to another room and the signal didn't budge.

What could be creating this signal? Could it be the power supply? I changed power strips, but that didn't make a difference. Any advice?

I'll try to attach a picture.

Attachments

• interference.GIF
    interference.GIF
    30 KB · Views: 37
Move your soundcard as far as possible from your video display card. If possible, try different video cards if the problem persists.

The soundcard is integrated. I can't move it. I am planning on installing a Delta 66 in the next day or so. Do you think that perhaps this issue will be resolved with a different card? Thanks!

I just looked at the back on the computer again. Everything is integrated into the main board. The monitor connection is less than 2" from the soundcard input. Is it possible that their proximity is causing this problem?

are you using balanced cables?
hell....my guess is it's the soundcard itself. it's a card built on your motherboard...you can't expect these things to do wonders and not have any self noise