• Mac

11 44.00%
Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: PC vs. Mac (hahaha)

wheelema is offline Boner-obo
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Quote Originally Posted by fetuslasvegas View Post
    There is a reason that things are cheaper for PCs. Sure you could build a PC with the same specs as any MacPro, as in same processor speed, amount of ram, etc... and the Mac will out perform the PC every time. The reason Macs cost more is because they use top of the line, non consumer grade hardware. Sure you can build a PC with the same grade hardware, and it will cost you the same as a Mac.
    Who told you that?!?!?!? Absolutely incorrect. And I'm not talking out of the side of my mouth. I'm a former bench tech and system builder who has built hundreds of computers and repaired hundreds more. The components that Apple has discretion over is limited to the case, motherboard, power supply, keyboard, and mouse. CPU, graphics cards, memory, DVD, HDD, SSD, etc... the honest-to-gawd performance components... roll off the same manufacturing lines as (Heaven help us) Packard Bell. That shit is plug-and-play and was deliberately selected by Apple to leverage economies of scale.

jimmys69 is offline Moderator with long hair
    Thanks
    Good points.

Also, a Ferrari (1985 BB512 that I had the pleasure of driving through MacDonald's for fries) is also very unstable at speeds above 140 on crappy highways like we have here in Colorado. Not sure if this is an analogy, or just gratuitous bragging. Turned that red bitch sideways on some sand and almost ran it into a mailbox. lol! Scared the hell out of me.