Oh wise ones..

CounterToAttack

Hi everyone

Ive been looking through the threads on soundcards and then researching equipment and ive come to the conclusion that you people have an immense knowledge and background on this sort of thing and so ive come to ye for advice and gubbings..

Ive got a idea of spending around £600 ($850-ish) though if needs be ill just put my student loan to a good cause...

The main thing im looking for is a Soundcard and from the jibb of things it seems like the aardvark direct pro 24/96 is along my lines and affordability (£535 - $770ish is the cheapest ive found in the uk) , but i dont wanna rush into anything for such an amount of cash. It seems spec's and what im recording has alot to do with the choice of card so below is all the need to know stuff and i hope you can all give me some welcomed advice

366 Mhz CyrixInstead 6x86MX (thats what it says in my system folder - im not very good with whats what and all)
32Mb Ram (dont worry its gonna get upgraded to 256Mb)

Im going to be recording songs of rock, mainly vocals/guitar/bass. (microphones probably gonna be a shure 57 and 58 though my mate says he'll lend me his expensive large diaphragm mike (dont know what it is though)). no drums yet, maybe other percussion instruments though, and maybe keyboards one day if im feeling plucky.

..If you wanna lay on any questions ill only be too happy to answer as ill be using this board alot now ive found it. And upfront i apoligise for never checking my spelling and thank all for the advice given.

cheers
Richard

I've been doing similar research and I'm leaning towards M Audio's Omni Studio, or possibly their Delta 1010. These seem to have the most bang for the buck. Musician's Friend is also having a special on them which has the price substancially lower than my local store can get them.

More info on the cards at http://www.midiman.com/

I've posted (and am continuing to update) notes on what I've learned at: