New recording gear advice needed

gtrjjj

Hi Everyone,

Up until recently I had been using a presonus Firebox and sony MDR-7506 headphones with cubase 5, guitar rig 4 and my strat and ibanez jem.

Unfortunately my Presonus firebox went poof (haven't opened it although from what I read they are known to have capacitor/resistor issues, especially when you only use the firewire for power :o).

Basically all I do with this setup is practice and sometimes record guitar with a backing track.

So I guess my question is, should I go for the same setup again maybe with a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB Audio Interface instead of the firebox, and grab some cheap studio speakers (getting tired of headphones).

Or will I notice a significant quality difference if I dish out a bit extra, I'm willing to spend if it means it will make that much of a difference.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions/advice.

thanks!

Jo

Last edited:
as an experienced studio guitarist I can tell you that head phones are mandatory.

I'm not familiar with all of your gear, but I use an external digital multi track to record all analog sound (guitar,) and bounce those tracks into my PC afterwards.

Using a click track to slate everything, and sync it up. 4 clicks in the start of the guitar track (before the guitar starts,) and 4 clicks in the laptop mixer. So everything lines up in time.

The reasoning for this is to avoid latency issues.

If you have a laptop with multi tracking software (i think audacity is free...) you can get a cheap external digital recorder on ebay. For example a boss br-532 is like $25 dollars. A digital 4 track that uses smart media cards (no longer produced.) If you happen to get this unit then make sure it comes with a 128 MB smart media card or that you can find one for sale.

Depending on your budget. You could simply run an RCA line out from your digital recorder, using an RCA to 1/8" adapter, and plug it directly into your computer for bounce.