New DAW build advice.

werewolf831

Hello, been a long time since I've visited but looking for some knowledgable advice. This board has always been my go to for help.

My last build was back in 2004 based on an intel processor, Asus p4p800 mobo, Win XP, M-Audio Delta line of soundcards and CEP 2.0/Adobe Audition 1.0. Been using this for 10 yrs now and ready to upgrade, just finding myself a bit more lost than expected.

Being a hobbyist, I'll primarily be recoding myself using 2-4 ins at a time. This includes a drum machine, amp modeler, as well as micing vox, amps, and other live instruments. I'd however like a build capable of recording 8-16 live instruments (drum kit, full band, etc) as well as handle VST drums and amp sims if I choose to go that path. Going forward, I'll be looking to use Reaper for recording, and will probably go with the Focusrite Scarlett line of interfaces for starters. Of course a PC capable of adding Thunderbolt down the road would be nice.

Here is the build I put together on PC Partpicker. I was hoping to keep it around a thousand or less, but I am flexible and can go higher if it would be beneficial.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770S 3.1GHz Quad-Core $306.98
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-U12S 55.0 CFM $62.98
Motherboard: Asus B85M-G Micro ATX LGA1150 $83.99
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 $149.99
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB 3.5" 7200RPM $50.10 (programs)
Western Digital Caviar Green 1TB 3.5" 5400RPM $54.49 (audio)
Case: Silverstone PS07B MicroATX Mini Tower $69.99
Power Supply: Corsair 430W ATX12V $29.99
Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer $19.98
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) $141.27
Total: $969.76

Never overclocked before, and not really planning on it, hence the CPU/mobo combo.
I also went with micro ATX case. I like the idea of going smaller than my current build.