Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: Music Making with a Computer for Dummies

Txema is offline New Member
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, I'm NOT a musician but a computer geek.
    The first article is pretty basic so let me put my 2 cents:
    Modern processors, CPU's, have cores and threads, a two core four threads CPU will be "read" by the operating system as 4 CPU's but won't be as efficient as a 4 cores 4 threads that's also "read" as 4 CPU's. Examples an Intel i3 is a two core four threads while the i7 is 4 cores 4 threads.
    The ammount of Cache memory and Front Side Bus, FSB, speed will benefit the over all processing.
    As for memory, the more the merrier, but if you match the FSB of the CPU with the FSB of the memory there won't be any delays on the transit of the information.
    But remember, an 32 bit OS would only accept 4 GB of RAM, so go for a 64 Bit OS.
    An finally the Hard Disk, SSD are the fastest kid on the town, and the more expensive. So you can get a 10,000 RPM SATA 2, 32 or 64 KB cache memory HD and get a pretty good performance.

dmiller91 is offline Newbie
    Um that was great and stuff, but is part 2 posted? That was a pretty basic article.

nortone is offline Newbie
    I recently purchased sonar X1 essential and I'm just getting familiar with it so far I see great potential .
    I have a Peavey Studiomix control surface that works well with the Daw but for some reason the mike input and the line in stopped working...tape in and outs work as well as the soundcard I/O's.
    I'm thinking something inside the board is the culprit.I read the manual over and over but I can't find out what the problem is.any suggestions ?

witzendoz is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by nortone View Post
    I recently purchased sonar X1 essential and I'm just getting familiar with it so far I see great potential .