I'm a decent guitarist - but a BAD keyboard player - need advice re: midi controllers

smili

Hi all. I'm primarily a guitarist, and I'm not very good at playing piano but am getting into midi a little bit for composing. So I'm requesting advice regarding a midi controller for somebody who sucks at keys.

I have a Studiologic SL-990 Pro midi controller but I think because I'm not a good keyboardist I'm having trouble with timing on the input when trying to play. I find it particularly hard to play drums on the keys, but even just basic note input is kindof tough to time well given the "throw" of the keys on the controller I have.

Anyhow - for somebody like me who's not much of a keyboard player - would you recommend something "lesser" quality? I'm looking at things like

- Akai MPK 25
- Kork microKey 37
- Alesis Percpad for something to input drums on (using sticks to hit with)

Basically, are the keyboards that better players consider "bad" sensitivity and things like that - would those type of controllers be better for somebody like me who's not a keyboard player just trying to get things done with proper timing?

I've looked at guitar-to-midi converter for input - but have ruled that out based on searches indicating it's probably easier to learn to play keys adequately than to learn to play guitar to midi.

I appreciate feedback on this. I don't want to spend more money if the answer is that "I just need to learn to play the controller I have better" -but if the less realistic controllers are better for bad players then I'd be willing to go that route just to get some things done. Thanks again

sounds to me like you may might have some latency issues when recording you midi.
good or bad midi controllers are really going to change the timing issues. I use a real old casio keyboard as my controller. You just need to have some patients, keep working at it, and research your DAW and midi equipment to see if there is a way to tighten up the timing issues.