How to make my vocals sound better? Effects processors, vocoders, mic placement???

pisces7378

My voice is shit!

Having gotten that off my chest, I feel I should clarify. I can hit pitches fine. No problem there. I have a little bit of a shy problem, in that I don't feel comfortable "singing out" and loud enough. So my voice sounds weaker, and it can trail off at the end of a line. Plus I am not good with vibrato, and just simply making things interesting. I am not TERRIBLE, as my above comment might suggest. I just could stand some good voice lessons and a shit load of practice.

Well, while I am practicing, I was just wondering if you guys knew of any kind of devices or software plug ins that someone like me might be interested in. So far, I have a Rode NTK and for a mic pre-amp I am using the OMNI Studio breakout box from my Delta 66 sound card. Now the pre-amps in that thing were reviewed by Future Music Magazine here in Europe and were said to be top notch. I haven't so much experience with vocal pre-amps to compare it to, but I do know that the pre-amps sound good. And the valve in the NTK sounds good as well. But I make some "experimental" type music sometimes, and I was just wondering if you guys could make some suggestions, since I don't even know where to start looking, for some kind of vocal effects processors that are multi functional as hell. I certaibly don't have the squids to go and throw down $800 on just a reverb unit, no matter how brilliant the reverb sounds. I will need some reverbs, but I also might want a damn freaky ass distortion/phaser for my voice. (Ya just never know). So any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.