Which Hard Drive is better for me? (Mac)

porkplan

I'm just a hobbyist/ amateur when it comes to music production. So im not sure if I should get the higher end hard drive.
I am using a 21.50nch, mid 2011 iMac

Im choosing between these 2 :

LaCie 1TB Rugged Hard Drive Triple USB 3.0 (5400 RPM) - Apple Store (U.S.)

LaCie 1TB Rugged Thunderbolt/USB 3.0 Hard Drive - Apple Store (U.S.)

I use Logic Pro X. And I would like to use it for other digital files as well since I do photography and RAW files are space consuming.

Which would you recommend? Thanks! :)

Depends what exactly you're using it for - most people would put their software on the laptop itself and use this sort of drive for backup purposes, in which case it doesn't really matter and I'd get something cheaper, they both seem expensive to me.

However if you're wanting to use these as a live, real time drive in recording, again it depends exactly what part they're to play in the recording... hold VSTi samples? stream the audio files?

I'm not a Mac guy so I'll let someone who is, come along and steer you.

RAW files are big, but they don't DO anything - they're still pictures... they just sit there and you edit them in an image editing program. Requires no real speed, just space.

Never get a 5400rpm drive. Always go with 7200rpm.

I have the same exact iMac and I only use Glyph quad-interface (usb2, firewire400/800, eSata) drives (I use firewire800).
I got my current 1Tb project drive for $180 at Amazon.
Well worth the little extra money for the drive recovery warranty and my previous 5-year-old Glyph is still running strong.

Looks like the only difference is $50 for Thunderbolt interface. If you're going to use the drive for recording, you'll want the faster throughput 10Gb/s vs 5Gb/s). If you're going to use it to back up what you've recorded, save the $50.