Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Going crazy over latency

Big Thier is offline New Member

Unhappy Going crazy over latency

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, this is my first post. I'll try to make this short: I'm using an Audio Technica AT3035 condenser mic, which is hooked up with an XLR cable to my Roland Edirol UA-25EX soundcard, which is hooked up to the PC with a USB cable. My problem is: I'm dealing with occasional latency. To put it simply, the sound coming out the headphones is delayed of like 1/4 second, so whenever somebody records vocals, they're slightly offbeat. But sometimes, around 20% of the time, it will be right on beat. No latency. But then the next day, it's delayed again. I've pretty much tried everything to fix it, buffer sizes, enabling/disabling stuff (I'm a noob at this), I called all the music stores in my area, I even paid someone online to help me, but it never went away. I'm recording in Acoustica Mixcraft 2 (I know) but I have the same problem recording with Audacity. Also, I'm not even using VST's or any effects while recording, or running a lot of programs at the same time. I'm on Windows 7. In Mixcraft, I choose the Edirol soundcard as the recording IN, and for the playback OUT. I hope this makes sense. Looking forward to your suggestions.

mjbphotos is offline Been Here, Posted That
    Does your soundcard allow direct monitoring? That's what you need to use.

Thanks for your reply. The "direct monitor" light is on on my interface.

So???? Somebody please help me. NO ONE in real life has been able/willing to. Y'all are my last chance.

gecko zzed is offline audio illusion
    1 Check that there are no background applications that may interfere with your recording (e.g. wifi, virus checkers, screen savers). If it is happening intermittently, then maybe this might be the cause.

2 Use direct monitoring as mjb suggested. Plug monitors and headphones in to the Edirol and use that.