Gaming and audio - separate sound cards/interfaces, or just one?

Kylotan

I'm a musician and a computer game player and I'm looking to upgrade my sound card in the near future. For the last 10 years or so I've enjoyed using the M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI card, but I want to upgrade for 2 reasons: firstly, it's old, the drivers don't work well on modern systems, and it probably won't be supported in future, and secondly, I want something with microphone inputs so that I don't need to use an external preamp and mixer.

The downside is, my Audiophile 2496 doubles up as the main sound output for my PC. It works well with the Windows OS and with games, as you would expect of an internal component, as it was not always practical to have 2 sound interfaces installed in a PC (especially when the 2496 was first released). I am planning on purchasing a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 USB interface, which gets great reviews for all the music applications - but I don't know if anybody is trying to play games through it.

Now, I do have an onboard sound 'card', and in theory I expect I could just use that for games, and route the output of that into an input of the Scarlett so that I only need 1 set of speakers. As long as I don't create a feedback loop there, it should be fine. I think.

Does anybody have any experience of this kind of situation? Or maybe there are other interfaces I should be considering that work better for this? PCI sound cards are seemingly going out of favour these days but if there's one that is known to be good for audio work and for games I'd consider that instead of the Scarlett.