EZDrummer

Armin.M

I use EZDrummer as a VST in Sonar production,
everything is ok but i wanna ask something,
althought it is more better than the other VSTs (for drum) how do we can make that sounds more realistic ?

thankyou.

Using the 'Humanize' function helps a little. Randomizing velocities in drum editor of your DAW takes time but gives good results, especially with HH stuff. A constantly consistent drum hit is mostly what makes it sound unnatural.

I think it would depend on the song. I have only done it on a couple of tunes so I think someone else can give you a better answer. For me, if I remember correctly, I was varying around 10%.

Nice answer ,but my humanize fuction is already on,
but i dont understand the second pat,i mean i should i change only the velocity of drum VST ?and what you mean by HH stuff ?
can you explain a little,thank you.

HH = hi hat.... nothing worse than a metronomic hi hat.

I'm no expert, but I place each and every hit in every track, make sure it has as different volume from its fellow hits, move some of them around one or two notches either forwards or backwards, randomly, and also randomly introduce another complementary sound to layer on top (ie. if it's a closed hat, put a touch of an open hat on it - just a touch) to change the sound a little.

Sounds quite "realistic" to me... not hard, just detailed and requiring patience...

I use Addicitive Drums and Reaper and it has a Humanise function too I believe, but so far I've not used it..

+1^. With acoustoic kick and snare recordings, we try to get them as 'perfect' as possible (timing and attack). Programmed drums are 'too perfect',
so the ideal would be somewhere in between. Making EZD sound 'real' involves making it not so perfect.

I do not know your DAW, but I'm assuming you have some type of midi/drum editor, where you will be able to modify the timing, velocity, and notes of drum sequences you have created with EZD.