DAW with best stock plug-ins?

CrowsofFritz

Flamingo!
Hello,

I'm currently thinking of buying a new DAW. Right now i have Cubase Le4. I have used many DAW's in many studios but only ones for Mac, and i am using Windows hahaha. So Digital Performer and Logic are out of the question. I am using Windows XP and have a MOTU interface so Pro Tools is out of the question too. So really i'm looking at Cubase and Sonar. I'm also checking out Reason/Record and Ableton if i ever feel like making beats. I do not plan to use MIDI. Which DAW do you think has better stock plug-ins? I'm not really keen on buying plug-ins or a new computer, but i may consider.

Maybe check out Reaper before buying C5 or 6. I have no experience with Sonar. I typically use third party plugs in Cubase, as most stock plugs are pretty basic there. LE4 is not a good representation of newer Cubase versions by any means. IMO it should be called ELABE4. Extremely Limited And Buggy Edition 4.

hahaha. Thanks! I always thought Cubase le was a little lacking. I guess if its not a good representation i should look into Cubase 5. (Can't get 6 because it requires Windows 7.) I always avoided reaper because everyone says "It's a very cheap DAW!!!!!!!!!" And in audio the saying "You get what you pay for" applies very well. But if you recommend it, i will certainly look into it!

Many very skilled engineers here use Reaper though I gave it a try and it just wasn't for me. Six is working with XP from what I have heard. SP3 I believe. You can get W7 OEM for $100. I'm not sure you can get a trial for 5 anymore but there is a C6 30 day trial. Give that a shot. There is a bunch about C6/XP on the Steinberg forum tho I don't believe you can see it without purchasing C6. I can fetch you some info if you want to try the demo.

Thanks for the help! Yes i am trying out the demo of many daws to see which is best for me. Info would be much appreciated!