Can I afford ProTools? (Budget studio build)

H37

Hey, guys and gals...
So, I've recently moved from central Wisconsin, down to Santa Rosa Beach, Florida... And I couldn't be happier, cause as the name implies I am only a block and a half away from the beach! :D
Unfortunately, I left my two best friends behind in Wisconsin... Both of which have their own home recording studios. Well I've been playing bass guitar for seven years and playing some electric/acoustic guitar while writing lyrics for three years.
The situation I find myself in now is that after only two months without access to a studio, I have a ton of new material and no way of laying it wall down... This is a huge problem, cause now I have to annotate/tab all my new material which really interrupts the whole creative process.

Well, I'll just get to the point... I need to build my own home studio and fast!
My question is if I am on a budget and need everything but a compatible PC and audio cables... Can I afford to go with a ProTools based home studio?
I'm really hoping that ProTools is an option even on a budget... Because, it is truly the recording industry standard from what I have seen! Also, because it is the main software I will be taught to use, when going for my Bachelor's Degree in Recording Arts @ Mcnally Smith in St Paul, Minnesota.

-----

My studio requirements and budget...
Let's just say that my custom build PC manages to meet and exceed all the requirements even for ProTools 11 HD... So I am set there.
My current budget is $800-1200... And for now all I really need is:
-The newest version of ProTools I can afford... (Also PodFarm if It can be fit it into the budget)
-The cheapest possible yet compatible Audio Interface...
-And a temporary pair of Studio Monitors (Whatever is the cheapest/best value)