Advice for DAW build

BigBlueToe

Greetings. I'm currently building a backyard studio. When it's finished I want to build a computer for recording. I'm a noob so any advice would be appreciated. I'm not sure what information I can provide that would help, or what questions to ask, but here goes.

Most of my recording would be of myself. I play several instruments, sing, and have some sound modules which I like to program in MIDI. I have a Tascam US-800 interface and Cubase 6 software. I have a couple of AKG C 1000 condenser microphones, as well as a Shure SM58 and SM57.

I would like to record lots of tracks - I don't know how many. So far I've made do with a Tascam 788, but I need lots more tracks - 24? 30? More? Cubase has lots of VST instruments available and I'd like to try them. I don't want to be limited by how many I can use at once - isn't this an issue sometimes?

I'm looking to build a desktop computer - music only, no internet, word processing, no nothing; I've got another computer for that. I want to have two monitors (at least?). I've been experimenting with the Cubase on my laptop, and the small single screen makes it really difficult.

I'm thinking of a SSD for my software and a 7500 rmp hard drive for storage. I'm thinking 8GB of RAM - would 16 be worth the investment? I'm happy with Windows 7. Do you need W7 Professional for 16GB of ram?

I don't understand SATA, PCI Express, or any of the terms I hear when looking at motherboards. I'm thinking of an I5 or I7 processor. I doubt if I'd want to get into overclocking. (Would I?)

Advice please?

Unless you hunger for the experience of rolling your own PC don't do it. You're far better off and money ahead to pick up a PC on sale and mod it to suit.

For example (courtesy of DealNews RSS feed) these recently crossed the wire-

• ASUS Ivy Bridge i7 Quad PC w/ 16GB RAM for $700
  • Lenovo C340 Ivy Bridge i5 Quad 2.7GHz AIO 20" PC for $649