Will this work?

SoundlesThunder

I am a guitarist in a band that recently decided with the singer that we wanted to put the band on hold(stop learning cover, start writing our own songs). I have a small space at my home but it is nowhere close to ready to use as a sound proof or decent acoustic setting to record. I own a Roland VS 890 Workstation that I just picked up a few weeks ago and a Boss DR 202 drum machine, as well as some POD things for for direct recording guitar and bass. Optimally I would like to record it to my computer using Reaper or something just to save ideas but am not sure if I would be able to do so and still be able to edit the individual tracks. I guess I am asking if this setup will work or do I need to bite the bullet and buy a audio interface and record everything straight into Reaper? Not sure what I need to do about drums though. I am not a drummer so I don't really want to buy a kit and our drummer isn't into writing original material but I can program the DR 202 just to lay down parts for a demo song. Thanks

You can surely record demos with the 890. What you will find soon are the limitations.

It really depends on the quality you want to achieve with what you have. And then the budget it takes to raise that level.

Your drummer isn't into writing original music? That is strange...