Why get Pro Tools when you can get use something like REAPER?

I think the layout in Reaper is actualy the best(well to me at least).You have the most toos you need right on the track view.The FX button ,the automation button,etc. I do use Cubase SL3 and compare to Reaper IT is cluttered with menu's on top of menus on top of extra windows,in the end you have 4 windows open just to do a simple task.I have dual monitors and even with using both i get a cluttered screen. See i like the simplicity of reaper and the smooth work flow.If i want to try something that has been discussed here ,like MS Technique ,i run to Reaper first before i go to Cubase ,since i know everything i need will be right under my hands and quick.
Now i have been using Cubase for over 2 years but i used Reaper only for few months.

By the way i dont know any of the creators or supporters of reaper,nor do i go to their forums that much,i'm just comenting on the software.

Not to take this threrad in a different dirrection but why has nobody developed an RTAS to VST wraper?

jonnyc said:
I'm not entirely convinced this is true. If various eq, compression, and other plugins can sound vastly different from one another I'd think it'd be the same for software that simply captures audio data.

The quality of what you record into your computer depends more on hardware than software. Recording software is, in a way, merely an interface to control your hardware in that respect. When you are recording something, it isn't really doing any processing to the sound, it's just capturing it. Or that's my understanding anyway.... With plugins, there is processing involved. Obviously, thats what they are for. Different plugins have different algorithms and process things differently, that's why they sound different. :)

Garik said: