Why get Pro Tools when you can get use something like REAPER?

Oh no, I've been using the wrong systems all along! I've been engineering in London studios for the last 9 years as staff and as a freelancer, and I've been using DAR Sound Station, Fostex Foundation, Akai DL1500 and Sadie, and I've done pretty ok without the 'industry standard'...

Oh, and at home for my freelance music work on the side, I use Cubase SX3.

:)

Uh oh, I better warn all the professional engineers that still use tape and/or radar that they better learn protools so they can be more like the kids with the home studios

Gah dammit, I knew I should have worded that differently! I didn't mean to suggest professionals should all switch to Pro-Tools!! I meant if you're just getting into recording, or are looking to upgrade your rig, and you want to be a marketable/versatile engineer, able to work at almost any studio in the world, you must learn, know, and love pro tools. That's all I was getting at.

If you think the majority of professional studios don't use Pro Tools, then you haven't been in many professional studios. I know there are many studios who still track to tape, there are several that use other DAWS, etc., but I'm talking about the majority of studios. Personally, I like Sonar quite a bit better than Pro Tools, but looking around at all of the studios I'd like to record bands at, I'm not about to try to convince them that they should switch to PC's running Sonar or Reaper. :p

The guys I look up to mostly don't like computers in general. Some run PT, some run logic, none of them will be marketed at though. Im trying to help make an app that theyll actually like, but none of us are all that concerned with what the kids from the conservatory are running.

I think it IS good advice, to know PT, and have AT LEAST an MBox or something that will open the sessions, but the appeal to popularity is a horrible thing IMHO