Want to start a home recording studio what do i need

Richie

Hello Guys:
I'm new to the whole recording studio I know i want to be a recording engineer and want to start a setup at home but i need help from you guys on what equipment do i need to get like Computer...Beat Machine....midi interface...etc... I love hip-hop & reggae.
please help me I know you guys don't really like newbies Thank You
P.S Don't have Alot of money but willing to make things happen.

[This message has been edited by Richie (edited 03-26-2000).]

Well, I guess it depends on who you ask. I personally suggest an AMD k6-3 or Athalon processor. You don't need to overkill the megahertz, right now, a 400 to 500mhz system is pretty good. You will need to take into account that AMD's are not tested on a lot of sound cards (as I've recently learned) and sound card selection is very important.

A fast hard drive is a must, and you'll need a good amount of Gigabytes for studio work. I've seen some get by on an 8 gig system, but I suggest a fast 20-40 gig system simply because it won't limit you for a long time. Keep in mind, with the PC, you can start small and work your way up, so a mega-system is not necessary, you just need fast components.

I say 128mb of RAM is a must, but the more, the better.

Software? I'm partial to Sonic Foundry Vegas Pro...but some swear by Cakewalk...especially for the MIDI side of things...

Good monitors are also a must, after all, if you can't hear exactly what's been recorded, your final mix may suffer when the listener actually plays it back. Either get an external amp an wire a pair of studio monitors to it, or get powered monitors to run out of your sound card. The new Alesis powered monitors are supposed to be pretty good, I use JBL's and I absolutely love them.