Unable to activate TrakAx Pro

ultrarunner2015

Hi;
I have been using High Andes TrakAx pro for several years. I started with ver 3.01, and upgraded over the years to ver 5.01. I purchased a license for the software, but only have one activation code (which was issued for ver 3.01), as I believe the newer versions were all upgrades and used the same license.
In any case, I have been working with this software on my PC on Windows 10.
Now, I have decided to go back to Windows 7, and trying to get TrakAx to activate has been impossible.
Every time I try to activate, I get error -20. When I try to find the High Andes / TrakAx servers, it appears they are off-line, and worse yet, the company has gone defunct. So no matter what I do, I will be unable to continue using this software on Windows 7.

While attempting to activate on Windows 7, I recalled that TrakAx could only be licensed for one PC, even though I have a dual-boot, and can never use both OS's at the same time.
So I de-activated the program on Windows 10 (that process completed successfully), thinking that I would then be able to activate on Windows 7. This was all before I learned that the activation servers were no longer available.
No luck. I was not able to activate on Windows 7, nor can I re-activate on Windows 10. So, it looks like I'm going to be using Audacity, or another free program, or go way back to Cool Edit 2000, which isn't a bad editing program - but it lacks the capability to use the newer compression algorythims like m4p, ogg, etc.

I do have one last resort, and that is to restore the image of my Windows 10 install from about 3 weeks ago. I won't lose much, but it will mean that I can never work with TrakAx on Windows 7, so I will need to keep Windows 10 on the machine if I want to work with TrakAx. Maybe that's not such a bad idea, but I am sure there are better programs out there - either free, or at a home recording friendly price ($50 and under?).