True Stereo Sound - External USB Sound Card

VmusicV

Hi,
I am looking for a USB external sound card / recording interface to replace my PreSonus 2x2. I am appalled that using a single microphone and single standard XLR cable into a single input, the interface doesn't provide a true and complete stereo signal.

I am a simple acoustic musician and so my requirements are pretty simple....it would seem:
  • Two inputs - no more
  • USB external
  • Works with BOTH Mac and Windows
  • Using a single microphone and XLR into a single input - provide a true stereo signal
  • Pre-Amp

I appreciate any insight.....it's hard to read through the specs on products.
Thanks

So, wait... You're trying to get a "true stereo signal" with one microphone?

I don't think you're understanding what stereo is. If you're looking for a stereo recording of something specific, you're going to have to use two microphones.
Of course, when you're mixing, if it's a full band or something, you can make a stereo MIX through the use of panning different instruments/reverbs/delays and whatnot. But if I'm reading your question properly, the problem isn't the interface... It's that you're trying to get stereo out of one microphone.

If THAT'S the issue, the answer is simple... Study up on stereo recording and buy a second microphone. =]

Here's a thread someone did awhile back on stereo acoustic guitar recording, start there.

https://homerecording.com/bbs/gener...iques/acoustic-guitar-recording-101-a-290919/

Just like Mr Wrenchy said, one mic is Mono!! You need two mics for stereo. The interface you use has nothing to do with it. Buy whatever interface fits your budget and needs.

Just like Mr Wrenchy said, one mic is Mono!! You need two mics for stereo. The interface you use has nothing to do with it. Buy whatever interface fits your budget and needs.

...or don't buy anything because your Presonus is probably fine for the job.