Tape timecode with DAW

Findlay

Please excuse me if this is a silly question or has been covered before but I am at a loss as to how to solve this problem.

I have digitised old 4 track recordings I made on my Tascam 244 - recording all 4 tracks from the direct tape output into a 4 channel sound card. I used Cubase and Nuendo. The problem is that some of the songs have timecode recorded on track 1 that I used to trigger a Roland Drum machine (which I still have!). Now I have these songs digitised it there any way I can use the timecode within Cubase or Nuendo to keep time of the playback so I can add drums in sync within the DAW?

Most likely yes. I'm no MIDI expert but I can imagine three general approaches. The most simple would be to send the timecode out of your DAW to that drum machine and record back the audio. Second would be to send the TC to the drum machine and capture the MIDI stream back into the computer. Then you could edit it, change the sounds etc. Third would be to use it to generate a MIDI drum part in the computer, though exactly how is not something I can help with.

Most likely yes. I'm no MIDI expert but I can imagine three general approaches. The most simple would be to send the timecode out of your DAW to that drum machine and record back the audio. Second would be to send the TC to the drum machine and capture the MIDI stream back into the computer. Then you could edit it, change the sounds etc. Third would be to use it to generate a MIDI drum part in the computer, though exactly how is not something I can help with.

Thanks for this. I'm not keen on option 1 as the sound from the machine sounds too dated and it is difficult to program. Option 2 may be possible - not sure if there is a MIDI out. I would really like to try option 3 - does anyone know how to do this? Will the computer be able to allow for the tape stretching effect and keep sync? Any tips and help would be greatly appreciated!