Suggestions for actual 8/8 usb interface?

blabb

Hi, I'm trying to find a USB audio interface to record drums, with each channel sent to a separate mix channel in Reason 7. I've read the Introduction to Multitrack Computer Interface Recording as suggested, and the only 2 interfaces that might work are the Alesis MultiMix 8/16 USB 2.0, which only has 4 XLR inputs, and the Tascam US 1800, which only outputs 4 channels via USB.
I would like to get a unit with 8 XLR ins, and 8 channels out USB. I need 2 channels with phantom power for overheads. Does this kind of interface exist? I recently bought a Zoom R16 multitrack recorder, thinking I could record then transfer the individual tracks, but it also only outputs stereo USB or a mono wave file. I really need the drums separated so they can be processed correctly. Thanks for any help! (I'm a drummer, dammit, not a studio engineer!):D

Your Zoom may only output 2 channel, but they have files on it, and you ca drag those to your DAW. I think they are in WAVE 11/44 if I remember right. That is the way you want to use the Zoom.

Attach it to the computer, it should show up as a Hard drive, look at your book, but it should show where the files go to. That would be my first suggestion. The Zoom is a decent product from what I've read here and other reviews.

I have one of these:

M_Audio_9900_65142_00_Fast_Track_Ultra_8R_792582.jpg

M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R - USB 2.0 Interface 9900-65142-00