Studio Monitors

dbrook2010

How does the Adam A5x compare to the KRK Rokit 5 G3?

Are the Adam A7x too large for a smallish home studio room?

L x W x H
3m 70cm (370cm)
3m 45cm (345cm)
2m 30cm (230cm)

Would I not get enough bass ear information on the Adam A5x?

How do the Adam A5x compare to the Presonus Eris E5?

And how do these compare to the Eve Audios?

Any help appreciated.

Finding someone with enough experience with all those options to provide a quick answer is unlikely. Your best bet is to determine which fall in your budget then check out reviews, then once you have it narrowed down to maybe one or two models you'll be more likely to get a response. If you have a local music store that sells studio equipment then a visit there might be helpful.

I have no experience with the models listed.

As for monitor size, I don't see why your recording space needs to dictate the size of the monitor used. If you can physically fit the monitor then you're good. Smaller 5" monitors don't tend to produce enough bass for my (mostly) hard rock needs, and even with 8" monitors I've added a small sub to ensure I get those lowest frequencies. Depending on the type of music you're doing, you may need to consider doing the same. Even 7" might not be large enough.

Whenever someone asks about which monitors are best, there is a mass of answers saying either monitor and recommending every other brand on the planet, because it comes down to personal preference.

I have heard Adam monitors at trade shows and I was always impressed, however I have not tried them in my studio, or tried the KRK's so you need to go out there have a listen and see which one you like.

And yes, how well is the room treated>

Alan.

There IS some correlation between room size and monitor size, or more correctly, distance FROM monitor and its size. It is largely to do with stereo image.