Specs on Dell v.Sony--laptop limits

jackstpaulUHS

I'm going to buy a laptop to use as my sole pc. Have desktop now. I'm a very low-end hobbyist. Using CEP 2.1a for 5 years now, have only done 1 audio track at a time. Looking to move into midi a bit, some more advanced effects, some other advances, but for self-/friends use. Never expect to record more than 2 tracks at once. Music audio is lower priority, but since I’ve narrowed my focus to a specific Dell and a specific Sony model, it’s now the biggest question mark.

From what I know at my limited level of knowledge they look indistinguishable except for Dell being cheaper. Without music software in my decision-chain, I’d buy Dell.

I will be buying audio new software--undecided yet. Maybe some version of Cubase, Sonar, Adobe Audition. No other use of the laptop would be beyond normal use, i.e. no graphics/video/etc. Since I’m at a point of being decided unless there are important advantages/disadvantages for audio stuff, I’m paying more attention to it.

Looking for comments on these 2 models I'm deciding between and relevance to audio recording of my low-end level.

Dell Inspiron 1525-122B $595
Vista Home Premium SP1; 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T5750; 3072MB DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz , chipset --Intel GM965 250GB Western Digital 5,400rpm. DATA: 4 USB 2.0, mini FireWire, multiformat memory card reader EXPANSION : ExpressCard/54 NETWORK Modem, Ethernet, 802.11 a/b/g Wi-Fi 128MB Mobile Intel 965GM Express;

Sony Vaio VGN-NR498 E/W $695
Vista Home Premium SP1; 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T5750; 3072MB DDR SDRAM 667MHz;; 250GB Seagate 5,400rpm, Intel GM965 Express, 4 USB 2.0, mini-FireWire, MemoryStick, SD card readers, ExpressCard/54, Modem, Ethernet, 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi, Bluetooth