Sorry if this has already been discussed, but HELP!

Mozart1220

I built a new computer and because I liked my old Sound Blaster Live so much, I got a Sound Blaster Z. The improvement in playback was profound, but I can't get it to do what I want recording wise. I use Sonar 8 Producer, and Reason 5. I installed ASIO4all and that solved many problems. Reason works FINE. Sonar plays back fine. They playback together fine. I have always used a Mackie ProFX12 running the line out into my line in of the sound card. It worked fine with the SB Live but now I get latency and nothing through the meters on Sonar.

My computer is Intel core i5-4460 CPU @ 3.2Ghz 8 GB ram Windows 7.

I sold a Tascam 38B 4 track RTR to pay for the rebuild and now I can't record at all!

I have more than 100 pieces of music on Sonar and I know the program so I really don't want to change that. I am NOT good with computers, I just know how to get the sounds l like and how to mix when done. I'm so CLOSE to what I need, but also so far.

HELP!!

Even if SBZ is not the ideal recording device, you should be able to get something recorded. Maybe there is a configuration problem somewhere.

SBL or SBZ: neither are designed for full duplex recording, i.e. recording while playing back with low latency.

You would benefit from getting an audio interface to go between Mackie and computer and to replace the soundblaster. A simple two-channel one is not too expensive these days.

Even if SBZ is not the ideal recording device, you should be able to get something recorded. Maybe there is a configuration problem somewhere.

SBL or SBZ: neither are designed for full duplex recording, i.e. recording while playing back with low latency.

You would benefit from getting an audio interface to go between Mackie and computer and to replace the soundblaster. A simple two-channel one is not too expensive these days.