Solo composer/home recorder needs some start up advice on gear & set-up

ZDHart

I'm an accomplished guitarist and spend most of my playing time coming up with compositional elements, which I like to develop and flesh out, with multi-track recording... lay down a rhythm track with guitar, then a bass line, then add melodic and harmony parts with guitar, then add other software instruments and sounds as triggered by an Akai MPK25 Keyboard Controller.

I use a MacMini Server running GarageBand as my DAW., with a Mac 27" Thunderbolt Display.

Monitoring is provided by Tannoy System 800 passive studio monitors, powered by an NAD integrated power amp, and an M&K 12" sealed/powered sub woofer. Since the room is quite "live" at present, I'm using headphones for most of my "sonic" decisions.

So, as a solo musician, most of my recording consists of just one input at a time. My input method has been one of two ways:

1) Electric guitar into Yamaha THR10 amp, USB out to MacMini USB port.
2) Akai MPK25 Keyboard Controller, USB out to MacMini USB port.

I have not used a mic input of any kind yet, but would like to be able to do so for vocals and for micing some of my guitar amps. The only mics I have now are the two stereo mics on a Zoom H4n digital recorder. I believe I can use them as a mic input source to the Mac, though I haven't looked into doing that as yet.

What I think I need is a high quality, yet fairly simple Audio Interface device. I would like to have at least two inputs on the device, though typically it's just me recording, so one is usually all that's needed. Ive heard that the Duet is of great quality, but limited I/O options. I'm wondering if there might be another AI device which plays well with Macs and has a few more inputs and reasonably good quality as well.