Which software, which computer? Computer impaired, please help!!

sl3shredder

Hello All,

I am a professional musician looking to branch out into the recording world, and as the title of this thread suggests, I am kind of clueless as to what I need in terms of a computer and software.

Let me explain my needs, and plans for recording, and what I was thinking of going with based on my research, and hopefully you guys can steer me in the right direction.

First off, I do have a lot of studio experience, but as a player, not as an engineer. I have a partner that I do production/recording with, and he uses Logic, so for ease of file swapping and familiarity purposes, I was planning on going with Logic Pro X.

Right now, I am looking to record my own music track by track. I will probably sing/play acoustic guitar to a click track for the initial rough tracks, go back and create a drum loop (I was planning on purchasing Superior Drummer for this) and build the songs track by track, never more than two simultaneous tracks, and most likely never more than 10 tracks total on a song (drums, bass, 3 guitars max, 3 vox max, percussion, and the occasional keyboard). I was also planning on purchasing Guitar Rig 5 for amp modeling.

I don't think I will need 5000 plug-in's for what I am looking to do either. If there are a few options for Comp/limiters, delays, reverbs, and EQ's I think I will be fine.

So back to my dilemma. I am on a budget. I can't purchase a $2000 mac computer, which is what some people are telling me I need. All I want to do is record music and surf the occasional internet/facebook on this computer. I was looking at the Mac Mini basic version with the i5 dual core processor that sets me back around $800 (with keyboard, monitor, mouse). Will this computer be enough for what I am trying to do and not have any speed/latency issues? Should I go ahead and upgrade to the quad-core version, or even the basic MacBook Pro at $1000?