Which software best suits simple playback recording?

BoatyMcBoatface

Hello, I am just getting started with a simple recording set up, mainly for the ability to playback guitar for the purpose of writing lead lines/ melodies for vocals etc.. So at this stage I'm not looking to do much mastering, just raw playback and ability to layer the recordings is all I need. Are any of the software brands ideal for this and simple to use?? I was going to go with Reaper bc it seems to have good reviews but it might be more complex than I need it to be . I am just using a vocal mic and am going to download bias fx for guitar until I get another mic at least. Any suggestions are appreciated, thanks!

I would go ahead with Reaper and just learn what you need to know to do the job at hand. Pretty much all DAWs are going to have a minimum of complexity to accommodate a range of users. There's lots of help here to get you going.

Okay that makes sense, thank you! And I also wanted to ask before I go ahead- I read somewhere that Reaper is file sharing software- is this significant at all?? For instance does this mean that other users would have access to my recordings and files or does it mean something else when referring to DAW's ?? I just would like to keep my recordings to myself at least until they are complete!

I doubt Reaper shares anything without your knowledge or consent. It might keep track of errors or other anonymous usage data for software development purposes, but even then there's likely a permission option you have to agree to first.

Okay awesome thanks man :) Apparently I'm more paranoid than I thought lol
One other thing if you happen to see this, the audio interface I bought has a code for me to use Cubase LE- would you use this before you'd use Reaper?? Or pretty well the same thing??