Scarlett 2i2 playback routing

I've been out of the game for a while but I recently helped a friend who wanted to set up a simple recording setup. He bought a 2i2 with an AT2020.

He is running into Reaper and my (stupid) question is, how do we route a track he has already recorded back to the headphone jack on the 2i2? Or is this not possible? I know turning direct monitoring on will send the inputs to the headphones but I was thinking he could route stuff out of Reaper, like a click track.

Or is the only option to headphone out of powered speakers/stereo amp rather than the 2i2? Or would something like the 2i4 work instead? The last time I recorded anything I was fiddling with a Delta 1010 and mixer so I have no experience with USB units though I do appreciate the ease of USB.

Thank you!

I've been out of the game for a while but I recently helped a friend who wanted to set up a simple recording setup. He bought a 2i2 with an AT2020.

He is running into Reaper and my (stupid) question is, how do we route a track he has already recorded back to the headphone jack on the 2i2? Or is this not possible? I know turning direct monitoring on will send the inputs to the headphones but I was thinking he could route stuff out of Reaper, like a click track.

Or is the only option to headphone out of powered speakers/stereo amp rather than the 2i2? Or would something like the 2i4 work instead? The last time I recorded anything I was fiddling with a Delta 1010 and mixer so I have no experience with USB units though I do appreciate the ease of USB.

Thank you!

If I'm understanding correctly your need/question, I don't believe you can route specific tracks to specific outputs on the 2i2.

I had a feeling that might be the case. I just didn't want him to play a guitar track back via speakers to listen to while recording vocals after the fact. I was hoping he could monitor via the Scarlett with headphones but it sounds like you can only monitor the inputs.