Recording from my CD Rom

Rusty K

Hello everyone,

I've been absent for a couple of months due to a crisis in my home,broken pipes and subsequent flood damage. I am very happy to be back online finally and playing music instead of playing "handy-man".

I've got new gear/computer with a Sound Blaster Live card. I'm just getting into it so I'll report my results as time goes by.

Though I'm not sure this is the right forum, my question for the day is how best to record tracks from a CD. I've already accomplished this using line in and a good CD player but I thought I might get better results using my CD-ROM. Trouble is I haven't been able to accomplish this yet. I'm running Windows Millinium and I can copy to my library using the Windows media player but won't it compress the track? I would rather use my editing software, Goldwave, to record it.

Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Rusty K

Well you could extract the audio from the cd using something like Windac, but I think if you have a good quality audio cable direct from your CD the differences would be negligable. Out from your CD into the line in and use Goldwave to record.

"I'm running Windows Millinium and I can copy to my library using the Windows media player "

I don't quite follow this part. Are you trying to get a audio CD ie. CDA into your computer as a wav file?

Recording CD tracks

Emeric,

Thanks for responding. Yes I am trying to get tracks from A CD into my computer as a wav file. To my ear the line in from my CD player sounds good but it is converting the digital signal to analog and then back to digital. In theory keeping the signal digital, ie using my CD-ROM, to record from should be better, yes? I have followed all the instructions in my editing software help. When I click "play CD" the Windows media player comes up so it is the default audio player in my system. I'm so far unable to record from it though.

Rusty K