recording/ monitor problem/question

JasonBird

Average Member
hi there, I'm pretty new to recording and have got my pc set up with a delta 44 card, and I'm using cakwalk pro audio 9.03. My microphone is running into a mixer and the main outs go into the 44 break out box inputs. the outputs of the breakout box i have going over to my pc speakers. I have the mic gain adjusted properly, and I get a nice signal into the 44. I found that the input going into cakewalk when i record, is really weak unless i turn of the main volume sliders on the 44 control panel up as high as it goes, then it tries to blow my speakers out. So i've been just turning off the speakers and then recording with the slider all of the way up. then I have to turn the volume down again before turning on the speakers and listening to the take. There has to be a better way! Should I route things differently? Your help is greatly appreciated in advance!
*Bird*

The input levels in the Delta should be up all the way. Turn down the outputs in Cakewalk.

Another possibility, if your mixer has more than one bus - route the souncard outs back to the mixer. Use the main outs to pwoer the speakers, and run the alt bus outputs to the Delta. Assign the mic channels to the alt bus and the outputs of the soundcard to the main bus. Then you can use your faders to control the volume.

One more point -- computer speakers are inadequate for monitoring purposes. Decent monitors are virtually a neccessity.

freak on a leash?

Tell me if you think I'm going overboard here...