Recommendations on music software?

Jazzman1949

I've been performing for 50 yrs. and got into home recording about 1996. In the past decade or so, I've been using TASCAM decks and found that they served my needs fairly well. But the changes TASCAM made between the 01-FX and the O3SD I just bought were just stupid (and cheap). I started looking at computer software but much of what I've seen thus far looks overly-complicated and many have tons of samples (which just jack up the memory needs of the software) that I simply don't need.

I just need a good, basic program that can do what the TASCAMs do, without a lot of extra crap. Some effects might be nice, but I already have a good rack.

Anyone like to make some recommendations?

The trouble is you're still thinking old school when you are considering how modern DAWs work. A good friend is really struggling with his old kit dying around him, but the jump to computers seems to really cause him grief.

many have tons of samples (which just jack up the memory needs of the software)
Yep - 100% right, but don't use them. Its a bit like trying to find a car without aircon, or electric windows, and power steering. They all eat up engine power and use the battery - but it doesn't matter. The engines are better and have more power to do all this.

I have a huge rack of effects, started the collection in 1980, and they gather dust. I could feed out audio to them, then take it back in - but why? In every case, the computer does it equally as well, if not better - and can of course control things - I can suddenly ramp up a delay for a snare hit, add in a double tap on the guitar and put an effect on a vocal stab, and then remove them again a bar later - I don't have three hands so couldn't do this for real without a computer?