A program that lets you create a rhythm by tapping your keyboard?

AnomalyFour

Im looking for a way to create complex drum beats digitally without too much effort. I hear awesome beats in my head, but by the time I can transpose them to notation they are gone.

I dont really know how to explain that any better. Im new at producing and dont know the terminology yet. "Virtual keyboard" maybe, but with drums.

Are there any programs out there that let me create a rhythm by just tapping on the keyboard? And then maybe let me edit those beats into different types of sounds/instruments? Maybe even produce ALL instrument tracks like this?

(also, I know about Cubase, but that keyboard is difficult for me because Im not sure you can re-assign the notes after you record them, making it just like a regular keyboard. My problem with that is the drum beats i have in mind are way too fast for me to create with only one key per sound (where as with a real drumset you get two sticks, and can create beats that are twice as quick and intricate. So I'd need a virtual keyboard that lets me reassign the types of sounds after Ive created the base rhythm/beat. Again I hope that makes sense lol)

Thanks

Midi is the way to go for this. I use a small midi keyboard (can be found for cheap) for tapping out the drum hits, then I can move them around and even auto-align them with the tempo/beat (called 'quantizing') using the digital recording software. There's a learning curve to doing this but plenty of info to be found once you decide what software packages you want to use.

You should get a MIDI drum pad or a keyboard that has little velocity sensitive finger pads on it. You could also try playing it on the keyboard keys, but that can be difficult compared to drum pads. If you go for the keyboard route, try to avoid a weighted keyboard as it won't be responsive enough for doing drum parts.