Processors and RAM

2lim

I am new to computer recording. I have (my parents computer) whih is a celeron 500mhz with 64 megs of ram, and an sb live value sound card. I am planning on getting the gadget labs wave 824, i was wondering what i would need to comfortably support eight tracks in ntrack each with one or two effects . How much ram should i get, and what kind of cpu upgrade should i get.

well thats something i think everyone asks, me included ... i went all out on this one and just stuck in 256MB RAM... ive heard a lot of people using celerons actually .... but also ive heard of a lot of people with 128MB as well , so as a safe gaurd i would at least use 128... i record at the most 8 tracks simultaneously so i think 256 is what i needed.... i dont know really what the min. is , does anyone ??

Well, I'm running Cakewalk pro audio 9 with a Celeron 333 on a Supermicro motherboard with only 128 mb ram, and i can play back 8tracks and record 8tracks at the same time with no problem. Being cakewalk, I don't have realtime effects, but anyway effects use processor time not ram, so 256 may be a bit of overkill if you only want 8 sim in and out in my opinion.

Gluck,

matt

checK: http://www.mp3.com/carolynn

Your processor is fine but in the audio world RAM is life. 128 will work but I would strongly recommend 256 MEGs.

Howdy!

I'm running n-track on a Celery 400 with 128 MB RAM, and I can do what you want just fine. I'd upgrade to 256 MB if I could, but I'm a little financially embarrassed...

Also don't forget to turn off any superfluous applications while recording. You won't believe the performance boost I got once I switched off auto virtual memory...

MikeDog

Celeron 366 (overclocked at 458), 64Mb RAM and an ISIS Card playing back +24 tracks with minimal FX or +16 tracks with full FX, automation, ...

Tweaks ?
Using Win95 OSR2 instead of W98. Since I don't have two screens nor more than 96Mb RAM I figured I wouldn't need W98