Presonus Studio Pro DAW...but adequate PC power? I'm lost here.

Redtortoise39

Disclaimer: Absolute Newbie here but not naive (I just sound that way) haha. Anyway, I am finally stepping into the world of computer based recording. I'm absolute positive on the Presonus Studio Pro software, but the right computer....(?) clueless here friends. I am definitely going to be a Windows based user (preferably Windows 7), but the whole choice of computers has got me lost. I'm definitely not rich, but I want to buy something powerful and adequate the FIRST time around. My question is this...what is adequate? I'm not opposed to getting in to the building side of things, or purchasing something already built...but what are the absolute necessities for me to have in a machine. I've read tons of articles, watched many of video's, but too much knowledge is never enough. I just want to make wise/well informed decisions from the get go. Trying to establish some solid ground work here. Thanks in advance.

List an actual budget point. I can show you the plans I have to build a totally silent, fanless recording computer @ about $2700 + monitors, or a $250 laptop that CAN record and comes with Win7.

Getting an actual copy of Win7 now is difficult. Look into that before you decide to do a build. It's not like XP where real copies existed forever and you could register with MS. Everything now is "OEM" although I did see a "Genuine Product Key" version that listed as "not currently available."...

I did see a full version of Vista, by the way. I was wondering who would possibly want to buy it. :laughings: