Pc or porta studio

curiousgeorge

Hi guys
complete novice to all this which of the above is best for a novice.Im getting a headache thinking about it weighing up the pros and cons to both still cant make a decision .Any help would be great please thanks

Hey George,
It really depends on what you want to do and, maybe, what your background experience is, if you have any.

I suppose a portastudio is more suitable for the kind of guy who has his instruments/amps in order and knows his sounds.
It really lends itself to the 'get everything right and get it done' approach.

That's not to say you can't edit or work on portastudio recordings but broadly speaking that seems to be the kind of guy who uses it.

If you think you're going to want to do a lot of manipulation, editing, tweaking, using virtual instruments, even extensive comping, you might find a computer based setup to be more suitable.

Tell us a little bit more about yourself and what you do. :)

I'm simplifying but if you feel you can make the sounds that you want to record, maybe a porta is the way forward.
If you feel you'll want access to tools for manipulating, processing, or creating sounds, maybe not.

I guess these days computer recording is much more common but maybe that's likely down to the accessibility. Most people have a computer and some degree of experience with it.

If you get a nice high powered laptop, you can have both. I put my Tascam 1800 in a 4 rack gator bag, with a power strip, couple of mic pre-amps, etc. If I want to record a band, grab the laptop, mics, cables, grab the gator bag and I am mobile. If you have a docking station, when you get back, put the laptop back in the docking station, re-connect the interface and you are back to studio mode.

If you don't require mobile sound, then hands down, desktop is the probably best way to go. Or you could still have a desktop, and low end laptop for mobile tracking only.