Which PC configuration regarding my profile?

res_publica

Hello there.

I'm completely discovering the joys of DAW with Ableton Live (I'm really a VERY beginner). I'm using right now an old Dell Precision M4400 with 4GB RAM + Core 2 duo T9400, and I'm quite surprised I succeeded to create some tracks… But as you can guess it's quite hard, since there are many cracklings and delays.

I would like to buy a new PC to create some music with Ableton Live (I just need it for DAW, anything else is not my problem). I have a budget of 700€ MAX ($750 max). I think I don't care if it's a laptop or a desktop computer.

Some precisions about my profile and what I'm looking for:

- It's just a hobby. I don't want a professional setup, and I don't think I will perform live for a few years. I just create and mix some audio tracks I export on soundcloud and stuff.
- I only use Ableton Live with embedded instruments (or with packs I download). I create some midi tracks, I choose my instrument from the list, I add midi effects, audio effects, and then mix all tracks together. For now I have maybe 5 or 6 tracks + effects simultaneously but I guess the number can raise in a few weeks/months.
- I don't use any external tools for now (using my sh**ty laptop keyboard for now). I have a very old sh**ty casio keyboard somewhere, I guess I could use it later to be more comfortable. Maybe by adding a sound interface with midi input? I don't think I'll record anything with a mic (at least it's not in my projects).

It's very basic as you can see. I'm a complete beginner. In the future I'd like to add some samples (and why not create them).

I really don't know if I should invest in the most powerful computer I can buy, or choose one with a little less power, but add an audio interface with it. Will it help performance if I add one, or is it only necessary if I use external devices?
It seems everywhere that the more advised config is at least an i7 and 8/16GB ram. Could an i5 do the trick?