Panning in REAPER

cormac

This is my first time posting on this board.

Please be kind..

I downloaded reaper about a month ago--still getting used to it--going thru an AKAI EIE pro, overall a very modest recording situation. For some reason when I try to pan anything hard right it completely cuts out. This is very problematic.

I guess I just want to know if it's an issue with the program or the AKAI or whatever. I really like reaper so far and I'd like to know why this is happening and if it can be fixed if anyone has any insight.

Thanks.

Are you recording mono sources to stereo tracks? If you do, and you use certain kinds of stereo panning, you'll get that outcome. Record mono sources to mono tracks.

Now, you said "...try to pan anything...", but what exactly do you mean by "anything". There is the case where the actual audio on the track is in stereo, with silence on the right-hand side, and in a certain mode the pan knob acts more like the balance knob on a home (or car) stereo, simply fading out whichever channel you pan away from. I'm not sure that this is what you've got going on here, though.

More likely something you've got patched wrong in the analog domain.

"Anything" refers to instruments. whether it's guitar, drums, vocals etc. It's mono input to a mono track. There is a mono/stereo switch on the AKAI but that's only for the monitor when recording so yr voice or what have you isn't only in yr left ear.

There is a very good chance that I'm just missing something. Just wanted to see if anyone had a similar problem.

How are you monitoring? Monitor speakers plugged into the Akai? Headphones? Have you tried it both ways? How about selecting your output device as your computer's built-in soundcard, just to see if the problem is how your DAW is recording or set up, or if it's the Akai?
When you pan a track all the way right, do you see the bar meter lights moving in Reaper in the right channel of that track and the master?