OK.....I have 1500 smackers to spend....

Walter Mitty

I want a solid, yet not too flashy, DAW system that I can build from scratch (this is my first time building). I want a 19" monitor, and I already have Soundblaster Live (which I want to keep--it's perfect for me right now). I also have a CD-RW drive and modem. Now I need everything else--tower case, motherboard, processor, memory, HD, etc....
Who wants to help me choose which parts to get, how much juice, and where to get them from? Thanks!!!

1 suggestion, if I had $1500 I'd buy the following:

- ASUS CUBX Mainboard.
- PIII 800 MHz, 100MHz FSB FC-PGA
- In-Win Mid Tower ATX, 250W is lots
- Quantum 20GB LM 7200RPM Hard Drives X 2
- Video Card - Nvidia Gforce based for gaming or a cheapo S3 or ATI 4MB if not required.
- 128MB PC-100 SDRAM (or 133MHz, depends how optimistic you are.)
- Removable Hard Drive Bracket

Dual boot your system (one for internet, games etc... the other just for recording) http://www.masterbooter.com , using your operating system of choice. Keep all your audio data on the second 20GB, the removable bracket is handy when/if you run out of space. Just buy another drive, put it in another or the same bracket.

My .5 cents.

dude, how about getting a dual monitor system. It will cost you the same as a 19" but it will give you more space and look way pro.

Hard to argue with Emeric's system, it pretty close to what I have. Personally I prefer one 19" monitor to two small ones, at least until someone puts two AGP slots on a motherboard. If you can fit 256 megs RAM into your budget I would do it. Good luck to ya....

MUHAAHHAAAAA I just hooked up another 21' monitor this is some cool shi&! Running Logic Audio on Dual 21' monitors and loving it. Check around the prices of monitors are dropping like crazy. Bought this Viewsonic P815 for 279.00 OTD. NEW

OK thats it!!! Someone tell me, how do you hook 2 monitors up to my Computer!!!