Not A Newbie To Recording But To Pro Tools VERY IMPORTANT QUESTION

roytools

Hello everyone!

Here's my question.

I've been recording for 2 years now with an iMac and Logic. During that time, I've had intermittent problems with playback and recording. Meaning I literally had to freeze most of the tracks in the project, just to able to record new audio or just playback successfully.

My iMac has very good specs, and according to Apple and other people on the Logic forums should not be having this problem with projects of the size I intermittently have trouble with. From talking to other people i seems like just a very random thing, very hit or miss.
Apple swears the HD is ok so that's not the problem. I've used the tool in Logic that tells what's being taxed the most at any given moment of playback/recording and it gives random results.

So here's my question to you guys. As Pro Tools users, either PC or Mac is there more Logic and Sense to the problems you have? I.e. - have you had problems, and just upgraded RAM and HD and had them solved?
Can it be that it's just the SW algoritthms themselves in Logic that aren't as stable and good as PT for recording audio ? I've often had audio tracks just literally not play, when there were 20 or more of them in a project. Leading me to suspect the audio engine itself is flawed compared to PT.

I've also looked at PT forums and there seems to be far less frequent topics posted than Logic..also grabbing my eyes, and making me think it's just a more stable, logical tool than Logic

Just to be clear, my goal is not at all to start a PC vs MAc or Logic vs PT war here :-) But simply to make my new purchase, my new setup, Logical somehow, not be chasing flaws, something that makes no sense. I.e. - there's a problem, then there's a REASON why, and you fix it.