[SOLVED] Not getting Stereo in my headset

HarbingerNo9

As a preface I am new to the audio world. I have a two pc streaming setup. The issue I am having is that my game audio is not in stereo but in mono. I have trouble shot the source of the issue down to my mixer. The game audio comes out of my Line Out of my gaming PC and into channels 7-8 of my Mackie 802VLZ4. The jack out of the PC is 1/8 stereo and the input to the mixer is dual 1/4 TS. The Headphone jack on the mixer will only output Mono. I am very confused. The Cables are not the issue as I have swapped them all around. I think it's just a lack of understanding how the mixer works on my part. I would appreciate help. I will leave I diagram of my setup. Not sure if it will help. Please ask if more info is needed. Also its isnt my PC. I get stereo when I plug directly into it with headphones.
mackie.jpg

Try plugging the left output TS plug from your PC to channel 5, and right TS to channel 8, now pan 5/6 to the left, and 7/8 to the right, and monitor it and see it you're getting stereo at the headphones. It sounds like the mixer is summing 7 & 8 to mono.

Hi Chris,

Just for clarification, when you say 'mono', are you meaning sound from just one side of the headphones or both ear pieces have sound, but there seems to be a lack of left and right separation?

Does this happen on Ch 5-6 with the Streaming PC sound card or just Ch 7-8?

From the block diagram in the mixers user manual it appears you have things hooked up correctly.

Well, one takes the #2 mixer out of the chain, also. Well well, everything out of the chain and gets each signal working one by one. In wondering about the MONO last night, I was thinking it wouldn't hurt to inspect the jacks ?

My first thought was that you had left the pan pots both central but that is a stereo channel and therefore has a balance control.

So, you have not hit the Solo button on that channel have you? That defaults to a mono feed.

Dave.