Newbie with a really stupid question

devilsgirth

What does it mean when an audio interface is bus powered? Are interfaces with bus pwoering better than audio interfaces without it?

Bus Powered interfaces gets the power to run them through either the USB or Firewire cable that connects them to the computer rather than from an external power plug.

I wouldn't say "better", but certainly very useful for portable/location recording. i've had some experience with audio interfaces that have more noise when running off of bus power rather than a plug but even then it's not been a huge problem as i was recording pretty loud sources.

DG,
If you are talking about an interface like the M-Audio Mobile Pre or FastTrack Pro, they are USB (bus) powered. The USB port supplies the power. However, the FT-Pro can also be powered by an external AC transformer (wall wart). Other interfaces can be FireWire powered.
The advantage of USB/firewire-powered interfaces is the portability as you can power it from your PC/ laptop. The downside that I have found is USB-power may starve a condenser mic, if the USB port is under load. I have not had experience with FireWire-powered devices.

Hope this helps.

LoL- what 'Justsomeguy' said. He types faster than I do.

Last edited:
LoL- what 'Justsomeguy' said. He types faster then I do.

sorry man :) i thought as i was typing "it'll be sods law that some is typing exactly the same thing as me at the same time". however, i think between us we've covered all the bases :)

No need to apologize... I am just glad that I was thinking like a great mind! You know what the say....

He got an answer from two sides of the Earth. Texas and the U.K..