New PC recording environment (subtitle: problems with AudioBuddy interface)

lindamac

Hi, all - again!

I posted this in the "Microphones" forum (https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?s=&threadid=71813), but I don't think that was the correct place to post (please forgive - I'm new to this).

My post has a twofold purpose:
- Try and get decent quality out of an AudioBuddy interface
- Request some info on setting up a good quality computer
recording environment on a windows XP PC.

Previous post read...

I'm just getting started setting up a recording environment on my Windows XP PC. We currently use a Roland VS-840 unit for home recording projects, but I'd like to make the switch to computer recording.

To start, the recording projects will be along the lines of recording vocal demos with pre-recorded backing tracks. I am currently using CoolEdit 2000 with the studio plugin.

My biggest problem right now is getting a suitable audio interface to record my vocals. My first purchase (to get my feet wet) was an AudioBuddy interface, which is plugged into the line-in on an SB Live card. The vocal quality I am getting is awful - low volume and tinny. I am using the same microphone I use with my projects on the Roland VS-840 (a sennheiser 855) with good results. (note: I know this is not a preferred studio mic, but it's presence is good enough for what I am using it for).

I had done some research on this board and didn't see any similar problems noted with the AudioBuddy, so I figure I must have something setup incorrectly. If anybody can offer any suggestions on getting this setup correctly and improving the vocal quality, I'd greatly appreciate it.