New to it all

Olhead

I am totally new to home recording/ mixing . I am in need of help . I have purchased a QSC GT 5 with 2 Peavey SP.2XT Speakers . I got these and several microphones and associated cables along with and assortment of cables. I am trying to understand connecting this with a Behringer Xenyx 1832USB. . I am leary as to the proper hook up . I would like to hook up my Yamaha digital piano P-45 , along with a guitar or two. The instructions are vague . I have a Asus notebook with Windows 10 . Also ans Ipad tablet . I am looking for assistance .

Hi there,

The core of your system is the xenyx and computer, connected via USB. Your on-board sound card should be disabled and the xenyx takes its place, handling all input and output.

I'm not sure how useful the Peavey speakers will be as they look more like passive (require an amp) PA speakers.
It doesn't look like your mixer has built in speaker amplification but correct me if I'm wrong there.

Regardless, passive speaker amplifiers or active speakers should have line level inputs via TS/TSR 1/4" or XLR.
Your mixer's main outputs left and right would connect to these inputs and, in your case, the amplifier outputs would connect to the speakers.

The Yamaha piano doesn't appear to have midi or line outputs but it has midi capability over USB and a headphone output.
That means you could either run the phones output to a pair of mixer line inputs, with the appropriate cable (TRS 1/4" to 2x TS 1/4", all male) and record the analog audio as you play,
or you could hook it up via USB and use it to trigger a virtual instrument.
Recording a headphone output isn't really ideal so midi over USB might be the way to go here? It also allows you to make corrections and adjustments very easily after recording, as you're really recording notation data rather than audio.

As for a guitar or two. Electric or electroacoustic direct would want to go through a DI box into a mic input on your mixer.