Need a help about Lexicon Alpha Audio Interface plzzz !

Ivan.A

Hello HR friends ! This is me Ivan:) I am a musician ... I am new to this forum and this is my first post.

Recently I have started learning DAW's and want to build a cheap homestudio. As I don't have lot of money right now :P
I already have m-audio keyrig 49 keys and a powermac g5 and pc.

Now the thing is I want to buy a cheap usb audio interface so I had planned to buy Lexicon Alpha Audio Interface as it within 60$
But I got to know that it doesn't have phantom power So is that a problem ??? but as it says it have xlr input I actually don't get it ! and am little bit confused :(

So, can you guys please tell me if i buy this interface can I record vocal without phantom power ?? and do condenser mic can be used via xlr input with out phantom power ?? if there is any microphone which can be used with this interface please suggest me :) or if there is any interface within 60$ ..

WAITING FOR REPLY :)
Thanks in advance !! Good Day !

Condenser mics need a source of phantom power to work. There are one or two condensers that can take onboard batteries but they're usually shotgun mics aimed at the film and TV market, not something you'd want in a studio.

Dynamic mics like the SM57 or SM58 or SM7B or a whole pile of others do NOT need phantom power but they do need a lot of clean gain. I'm not sure if the Lexicon has enough but I have a friend who uses on and likes it.

It IS possible to buy a phantom power supply like the Behringer PS400 (about $35 or $40 normally) to get around this problem...but you also might find a different interface with phantom for a price similar to the Lexicon and the power supply.

my friend if you have time can you check Lexicon Alpha USB Desktop Recording Studio specification ?? about gain and phantom power ? please :) ( sorry couldn't post the URL the fourm is not allowing me :(